Jignasha Patel Controller

Up Close & Personal with: Jignasha Patel

Controller, Pittsburgh, PA

What is your educational background?

I received my undergraduate degree in Accounting from Florida Atlantic University (2000). Received my Certified Public Accountant from the state of Illinois (2009)

What was your first job?

I was an Assistant Auditor at a CPA firm

How long have you been at Accion?

I have been working at Accion for four and a half years

How did you get your start at Accion?

We had relocated from Chicago to Pittsburgh and I heard that there was a small but ambitious company near home looking for someone who could manage their finances.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

As Accion’s continues to expand out globally and grow, keeping our organization ahead of the regional and global regulatory requirements becomes essential. Our employees and customers expect Accion to be financially sound in our practices and compliance. Making sure we have the modern systems to allow this to happen seamlessly around our global operations keeps me on my toes.

What is the most rewarding part of your job?

Interacting with our global subsidiaries and customers is amazing given the wide diversity of the individuals we work with day to day. Getting to learn about all the exciting projects our teams are working on with our broad clientele is exciting to see as we see Accion successes continue to fuel and shape our future.

What is something that is unique or would surprise someone to know about you?

I have participated in five Pittsburgh Relay Marathons and four 5k runs after moving to Pittsburgh. I also love to travel every chance I get.

What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

Being the first generation in the United States, maintaining my culture and heritage has always been important to me being so far from my hometown. Growing up, I participated in cultural dance events while developing some life lasting friends in the process. I take that passion and volunteer a lot of my spare time at cultural and community events. This has kept me busy as I introduce my daughter and son to experiences they would normally not have exposure to, being the US.