Helping Transform Businesses Through Emerging Technologies
Amy+sign.jpg

Up Close & Personal with: Amy Halter

VP of HR/Operations, Pittsburgh, PA


What is your educational background?

I have a Bachelors in Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Management, and a Masters in Human Resources and Employee Relations, both from the amazing Penn State University

What was your first job?

I started working at a movie theater/cafe when I was 14. I sold tickets and refreshments, as well as helped with making the sandwiches and other foods they sold at the cafe. The worst part was having to clean the theaters after everyone left (be kind and clean up after yourself!!). The most interesting part was seeing the back of house workings with loading the reels (yes, reels, it was a while ago!!) of film up for the movies.

How long have you been at Accion?

Nearly 6 years

How did you get your start at Accion?

I applied for an employee relations manager position on Craigslist, and Sandesh called. I came in for an interview, and the rest is history! I started off in just that role, which grew to include a big part of finance. I am now working to relinquish all finance duties, and devote myself entirely to the HR needs of the company.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

Trying to respond quickly enough!!

What is the most rewarding part of your job?

Getting to work with people from all over the world. I have always wanted to run the Amazing Race, and if I do, I know I could phone a friend in several different places around the world for help. That's a pretty exciting thought!

What is something that is unique or would surprise someone to know about you?

I worked in the Olympic Village during the Sydney 2000 Olympics as the manager of Cold Food Station #3, lol.  My claim to fame is serving bread to Michael Johnson.  I also got to listen to Steve Jobs give a speech at at Newscorp meeting while working at Rupert Murdoch's ranch when I lived in California. 

What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

Spend time with my family. Outdoors when possible, I love the water, so anything to do with boating, swimming, etc...is my thing! Also - campfires...being removed from all of the distractions and just talking around a campfire is some of my best memories from growing up.